Jul 01 2015

Deaf Smith

Erastus "Deaf" Smith is an iconic figure from the Texas Revolution. Hearing loss from illness was the source of his nickname, “Deaf.” His land grant on the Cibolo, located in old Bexar County east of San Antonio placed him at the center of historic events.  


Read more...
Feb 26 2015

LTR SealIn the midst of Reconstruction violence, Jim Crow laws, and the transition of African slaves to Freedmen a unique relationship developed in old Bexar County east of San Antonio. Two peoples found value in an alliance based on economic need and safety for their families: the freed African slaves and the Polish-Silesians.

Read more...
Mar 31 2015

In 1846, the new state of Texas was irresistible to Gideon Lee, Jr., his New York family connections, experience and resources immediately established him as a financial giant in Bexar County. He invested in land at strategic points between San Antonio and the port of Indianola along the new southern transcontinental route to San Diego. He purchased the Sulphur Springs League where the road crossed the Cibolo, he purchased over one thousand acres where the road crossed the Salado. Midway between those points, he purchased 159 acres that would become the stage stop called Cottage Hill. 

Read more...
Nov 18 2014

In 1886, he became Justice of the Peace for Precinct #4 for Bexar County. Precinct #4 included the communities of Mt. Olive, Cottage Hill, St. Hedwig, and Adkins. He served in this position continuously until he resigned in December of 1908. 

Read more...
Nov 18 2014

James Nipper registered his first cattle brand in June of 1854-residing on the Cibolo near the Wallace place. At this time he was appointed to the Bexar County slave patrol, under Capt. Ed. H. Cunningham.

Read more...